And so it begins…

r3op2

Well I feel like I have finally caught up with the world and got myself a blog.

I am always intrigued and amazed by other people’s blogs but have found starting from nowhere and hoping to get to ‘there’ a tad overwhelming, so I have just been putting it off.

As this is my first post, I should explain a bit about me and its purpose – if for no other reason to get it straight in my own head.

I teach Functional Skills (mainly Maths, a bit of English) in a GFE college in the south of England. I am also the bearer of the title Advanced Practitioner which means someone else thinks I’m good at what I do and I help new staff and those who are struggling get better. And I LOVE IT. It’s the best part of my job, I really enjoy teaching but what I love best  is helping other people find that joy, discover their inner passion and be great at what they do and come to work with a smile on their face. If I could spend all day visiting colleges and sharing ideas I would…that would make me a consultant, and I could probably charge a fair amount for that, but for now I am heading in a different direction.

I want to be a Principal…there I’ve said it. I think there is a bit of an issue with young lecturers saying they want to be sector leaders, almost as if it’s wrong to have the desire and drive to be top of the pile. The lack of support, in terms of sector wide development strategies, for those of us who want to move up the ladder is shocking…but I will come to that another day.

For now, it’s hello, welcome and come join me in being a #futureprincipal

One thought on “And so it begins…

Leave a Reply

